Nominating Committee endorses one

The Kansas Association of School Boards Nominating Committee is charged with the task of presenting to the Delegate Assembly each year one or more qualified candidates for the office of President-Elect Designee of the Association.  The committee met on Saturday, September 6, 2014 and unanimously endorsed the candidacy Amy Martin, Olathe USD 233.  A Voters Guide, which serves as the KASB Nominating Committee Report, will be distributed at the KASB Fall Summits.  It will also be mailed prior to Convention, along with other Delegate Assembly materials, to all board presidents, superintendents, and voting delegates. 

The election for KASB President-Elect Designee is on Sunday, December 7, 2014, during the annual KASB Delegate Assembly, in Wichita.

KASB Nominating Procedures

The KASB president appoints a nominating committee in late summer of each year. The committee is comprised of one representative from each of the KASB 15 regions and typically meets in Topeka and is charged with the responsibility of interviewing and reporting one or more nominees to the delegate assembly, held in conjunction with the annual convention, for the election of the president-elect. Further information and applications forms are made available online.

The selection of KASB's leadership is one of the most important responsibilities of association membership. School board members are asked to consider serving as a KASB officer. Contact KASB Administrative Assistant Kathy Tallman, 800-432-2471, for additional information.
Amy Martin - Candidate for President-Elect Designee

Members of the 2014 KASB Nominating Committee are

Region 1

Dayna Miller, Basehor-Linwood USD 458/

Region 2

Kevin Schasteen, Paola USD 368

Region 3

Gail Billman, Labette Co USD 506

Region 4

Curt Herrman, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383

Region 5

Duane Phillips, Nickerson USD 309

Region 6

Susan Walston, Haysville USD 261

Region 7

Kevin Milner, Republic County USD 109

Region 8

Gary Yost, Otis-Bison USD 403

Region 9

Carol Keith, Graham County USD 281

Region 10

Ryan Ausmus, Dodge City USD 443

Region 11

Pam Robinson, Blue Valley USD 229

Region 12

Craig Denny, Shawnee Mission USD 512

Region 13

Christal Watson, Kansas City USD 500

Region 14

Sheril Logan, Wichita USD 259; and

Region 15

Brent McCune, Olathe USD 233.